Will you GChat me?

May 19, 2009 at 4:38 am | Posted in On this journey... | 2 Comments

Over the course of 6 months or so, I would say that myself, along with a couple of friends and colleagues, have taken Gchat to the next level. Since then, it has made me wonder if the paradigm of conversation and human connection is reaching a new height in communication. It seems that today more than ever, people are reading into theses “cyber” signs and formulating ideas and concepts on what is happening in a relationship, or a potential one, or something that is made up in their wandering minds…

Has Gchat become the new answer to all of those silly relationship questions, concerns, hang ups?

google_talk_logo

To think of it, my day to day life is in some way is spent on Gchat. My 8 hours of work transfers to my 8 hours of studying at night, and yes, I am on Gchat during that time. Even when I’m not home, my lap top is on, and I am signed in. I mean it is just so convenient….it’s my email AND a method of seeing what people are up to… so who wouldn’t be addicted?

But lately, Gchat has been getting myself and some friends into sticky situations. We’re reading in between the status lines. Your gchat habits really start to help you formulate ideas on what is happening. But is this just cyber garbage? Or if someone is mad at you, will they lash out and go “invisible” for weeks? Will an ex-boyfriend, who swore off of gmail and gchat suddenly appear to try and chat you up on a Thursday afternoon?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think you should expand on this post, I’d like to read more about your range of experiences with GChat.

  2. I’d have to agree that gchat is fast becoming the status bar from Facebook. I used to use gmail for my email, and ignored who was online. Then I took notice of people, but never scanned their messages. Now that’s the first thing I do. I see who’s online, email and im them at the same time, sometimes in direct response to their away messages. It’s a crazy world we live in, but I love how a simple tool can morph to fill so many rolls. From mailbox, to megaphone. Wonder what’s next?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

