Sulk Nation Soundtrack

June 18, 2009 at 4:17 am | Posted in On this journey... | 4 Comments

I’m sure everyone feels the pains of heartache in their lives. It is an inevitable feeling. But for some reason, like child birth, we have the capability to forget about it because we find ourselves doing it over and over again. Why do we crave love so much? Haven’t we learned from that one big break up that it is just not worth it?

Oh but I’m sure people will disagree with me. It is all worth it. Memories are worth everything. They are what keeps us warm at night when no one is there, and they also make us feel immense happiness. 

oldguitarist

A constant sulky mood is something that has become the new accessory in my life. When I wake up in the morning, it is there. Brushing my teeth, it is there. Shopping for things that I don’t have money for…it is there. Gosh, I cannot escape this sulk. Thankfully, I have a plethora of wonderful songs on my iTunes that suit this very accessory….

This month I present: Sulk Nation Soundtrack.

Won’t you join me?

Ain’t No Sunshine- Bill Withers

The gritty feel of this soulful track immediately pulls you in a time machine back to the 1970’s. I love the heavy bass in this song. Gets me every time.

Bring it on Home to Me- The Animals

This song just pours with emotion. The lyrics really speak to me. Eric Burdon is just amazing, what can I say?

Don’t Let Me Down- The Beatles

Kinda ironic, cuz i’m totally let down. But this is probably my favorite Beatles song…so raw..and real. Oh, and Billy Preston is on the single, released in 1969.

Half of You- Cat Power

Yes, this song is in True Blood. But I’ve loved Cat Power for a while. Her voice is so dream like with a “longing for” quality. You may be wondering why I chose this song, because it is clearly a love song. I find it ten times more emotional when you’re sulky and listening to it. 

 


 

 

Cat Power performing.

Cat Power performing.

 

 

Sad Songs and Waltzes- Cake

Title says it all : )

(Nice Dream)- Radiohead (and their entire OK Computer album though this song is on The Bends)

Nice Dream is a song that provides for an outlet of any bad dream that is swimming in your mind and thoughts. It is unmistakably beautiful.

You Don’t Miss Your Water- Taj Mahal OR Otis Redding

These two sing the pain out of this song! You can just feel the aches coming from their bodies.

Oh What a Day- Ingrid Michaelson

I just recently discovered this singer. I admit, I feel that she appeals more to the female audience…however her lyrics and chord progressions are beautiful and touching.

Atlantic- Keane

This songs builds with emotion, whether it’s anger, happiness, nervousness, etc.

Dvorak’s American String Quartet in F- Second Movement, Lento

If you are not into classical music, I am SURE this movement of one of the most beautiful pieces ever written will change your mind! : )

Beware of Darkness- George Harrison

images-1This amazing man’s music touches me more and more each day.

So there you have it…my current collection of songs that are on heavy rotate on my iPod…getting me through the day. I invite you to listen with me! But please, keep your spirits up…because hey, it’s only life…and we should live it smiling.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I listen to that smile song all the time…So smile… it only gets harder

  2. Ash, I am making you a get up and dance mix cd…and a really depressing one too..
    I would add all of Beck’s Seachange album to this list…that’s always a nice warm cozy blanket of depression to curl up in on rain soaked days.
    Also, Blur’s album 13…for some reason, for me anyway??

  3. A few suggestions (cuz I’ve been there before) –

    Jose Gonzalez’s cover of Teardrop:

    And Vashti Bunyan’s Train Song:

    Bonus: the entire Beck album Sea Change from start to finish, then start to finish again…

    Once you’re over it, you can deliver the final stanza of Lefty Frizzell’s Look What Thoughts Will Do and grin it at the last satisfying moment:

  4. Ah, the old Guitarist.
    One of Picasso’s best works.
    (before all the weird cubic stuff…)

    The man bent over his guitar,
    A shearsman of sorts. The day was green.

    They said, “You have a blue guitar,
    You do not play things as they are.”

    The man replied, “Things as they are
    Are changed upon the blue guitar.”

    And they said then, “But play, you must,
    A tune beyond us, yet ourselves,

    A tune upon the blue guitar
    Of things exactly as they are.”


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

