The Man Purse

September 15, 2009 at 4:28 am | Posted in On this journey... | 1 Comment

Fashion week, please explain something to me… What is it with men these days walking around with what seem to be a purse? I mean, I just don’t get it. They are invading the planet. For weeks now, I have seen dudes in Starbucks, at Bryant Park, catching the F train, all over Florence, Italy, for heaven’s sake, wearing purses. I can’t escape it…and no, it’s not OK.

man-satchel

So recently, my little wandering mind has traveled through styles and trends over the last 50 years. Never in my life have men been accessorizing as much as they are today. The 21st century has definitely pushed forward some ridiculous ideas of what looks good. I mean, call me old fashioned, but I find a guy with jeans, a t-shirt, Adidas Sambas, and an old, worn baseball hat to be the hottest thing on Earth.

post_image-ronaldo_man_purse_b-gr01.JPG

They say it’s European. Honestly, that really stinks because I thought I loved everything European.  I wish that were the case. Unfortunately, the MURSE is everywhere. I’m not going to knock the importance of a bag. Bags are important! We need to carry our stuff around! Additionally, they have been around forever. Bags have been noted in literature as early as the 14th century, and have been seen in artwork as early as the Egyptian hieroglyphs. Maybe it was ok back then, because Gucci didn’t design it.

I just don’t know…as the eyebrows are getting thinner and thinner, and bags getting more and more flamboyant, am I going to have to train my eye in thinking this is hot, attractive, acceptable? Gosh…I hope not.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh, whatever, Ashley. You’re just mad ’cause those guys are stylin’ on you. 😉


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

