Are you Flirting With Me?

October 26, 2009 at 6:04 pm | Posted in On this journey... | 3 Comments

Flirting, according to Wikipedia, is an expression of sexuality and a common form of social interaction whereby one person obliquely indicates a romantic or sexual interest towards another. I’ll add that it makes our hearts pound, gives us sweaty palms, and makes us act like Disney’s Goofy. What I want to know is, why am I so bad at it??

468px-Das_werdenSie_ja_nachher_schon_sehen

I mean, I should be really good at it. I’ve had a lot of practice meeting and greeting men living in sexy New York City, I speak a romance language fluently, and I know how to smile. Day in and day out though, I am more and more confused, perplexed, and am beginning to think I am downright clueless about how to properly, aggressively, and successfully flirt.

But to give myself credit, I think guys are bad at it too. A great example of this happened yesterday, during a crazed coffee break. I was fading fast so I decided to hit up Starbucks, for that much needed jolt. As I ordered my grande coffee, unsweetened, the wired barista started to work his “retail” flirting magic by coaxing me to purchase their new Instant VIA. Usually I am not suckered into this type of pressure but for some reason, I was a bit intrigued by his approach. I don’t know whether it was the attention was making me feel good, or the simple fact that someone was being extra nice, or if I thought he was flirting with me BUT I bought the VIA. Everything was great up until the point where he then took the “retail” flirting to the next level by stating that if I wasn’t satisfied with VIA, I could come back and throw a whole hot cup of it in his face. I couldn’t resist the burst of laughter that was forming deep in my belly, and out it came. YES, guys are terrible flirts! Terrible Terrible.

ClaraBowShoe303

Men can hide their terrible flirting, but at the end of the day…they really could take a couple of pointers from some key players. But who? Are there any key players? I’m not so sure…

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ha! That guy played you for a fool. He made you purchase a VIA (whatever that is) with his expert salesman pitch! It’s just like when female retail workers bat their eyes and make us guys do the same thing. I mean, seriously. Did I really need to buy those extra protein bars when I was ready to exit the store with a 6 lb tub of protein? Damn you, sexy Latina sales associate with the regulatory tight black pants at GNC! Corporate knew EXACTLY what they were doing with that one.

    But, yeah. When it comes to flirting, it’s a balancing act between being funny yet charmingly suggestive and creepy yet annoyingly suggestive. Some guys read and train themselves on what works universally and others just throw things on a wall to see what sticks. I know I’m terrible at it.

  2. […] In response to:  Are you Flirting with Me? […]

  3. I love your images-so fab. Such eye contact in the second one. I used to hear that flirting was all in the eyes. Sure, just bat those long lashes, add a little laugh and give him the LOOK.
    But what is that look?
    And what happens next?
    I have to say, there’s a lot more to flirting than just eye contact, and both men and women have to participate. But it is about setting, and the first move. I personally love the idea of a subway ride where you start chating with someone about the book you’re reading. So simple, and easy. And then maybe you both get off at the same stop, grab a cup of coffee or tea, and…you never know.
    But it sounds like I may be stuck in the 19th C in a way too…who knows.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

