New Year’s Advice from a Non-Cynical New Yorker

January 2, 2011 at 10:07 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

It wasn’t until this morning during my hot yoga class that I realized for the first time in a long time I felt light, free, and completely happy. 2010 was an interesting year. As I look back from January 1, 2010- December 31, 2010, a lot has changed. It has been a roller coaster year. I rode my bike 42 miles throughout the five boroughs, changed jobs, moved back to Astoria, let my hair grow, and saw the Gorillaz live. I also had a lot of fun with old and new friends, and bowled my heart out each week at Brooklyn Bowl.

Looking for fulfillment everyday in 2010 became less of a challenge and more of a reality. The main reason why I was able to realize personal fulfillment is because I allowed life to change. Change is a hard thing to accept because it’s so uncomfortable, so uncertain, and humans don’t like it. We like things that are predictable, even if we don’t admit it. But the truth is, change got me here.

Therefore, I encourage you to create a change in your life in 2011. The change can be physical, mental, spiritual, metaphysical, or even basic. Just change something! Make it better! Challenge yourself. Here are some tips that may make your daily grind sweeter:

1. Laugh.

2. Listen to the Beatles Anthology Albums

3. Take photos of your friends

4. Kiss someone passionately

5. Make friends with your local bartender

6. Catch up on your Netflix Queue

7. Go to a museum

8. Make brunch for your friends

9. Go to hot yoga

10. Drink water with lemon

11. Look up at the sky more

12. Be silly

13. Run a marathon

14. Walk through Central Park with no direction in mind

15. Drink good coffee

Here’s looking forward with love and happiness, and life…because guess what? It’s awesome.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. just have to say that it was very inspiring!

  2. Change is hard, but you’re right-once you begin to roll with it, exciting things happen. So glad to see you shining bright again! Nice photos too btw.

  3. Love your take on change. I’m in complete agreement. Beautiful words


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

